Top 10 Tuesday: Books You STILL Haven’t Read

T10T

This week on Top 10 Tuesday we’re showing off books we had from before we were book bloggers that we STILL haven’t read. In other words, book shaming. I love book shaming myself because sometimes it motivates me to actually read these books that I’ve spent my hard earned money on. Other times, it makes me realise I’m just buying books for buying them sake and it helps me save. It’s a win-win!

I’ll be doing it a little differently. Before I started my blog I didn’t have a tbr. The only books on my shelf were Twilight and the Inheritance/Eragon series. So I’ll be showing books I bought when I started blogging (around 2014) and still haven’t read yet.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

These books were some of the first that I bought when I started blogging. I had read the first four back in 2012 but this was two years later and I had forgotten most of what happened. I decided to reread them last year and so far have only reread The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters. I just don’t feel the fire to read them right now.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I own all six books in the Vampire Academy series on my Kindle. Have I read any of them? Nope. I remember buying them one day they were all on sale for $2.99 each. I saw them and thought “vampires with elemental magic should be fun.” And not too soon after, I lost all desire to read anything with vampires in it. I’ve decided to give the series a shot eventually. I mean, I did spend almost $20 USD on it.

The Thought Readers by Dima Zales

I read Dima Zales’ Sorcery Code books way back when and really enjoyed them. They were my first taste of NA fantasy and they were pretty good. I haven’t read any of his books since then despite having the first book to his second series about mind reading, The Thought Readers. I did try to read it sometime last year but I just couldn’t get into it. I may try again before giving up altogether.

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris is a very well known author for her Sookie Stackhouse series aka the books that inspired the True Blood tv show. I really enjoyed the show for the first couple seasons so I decided to pick up the first book Dead Until Dark. When I started reading it I realised that the tv show is such a close adaptation to the book I knew what was going to happen before it happened and I just couldn’t get into the story.

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I bought this when the Game of Thrones tv show was somewhere in the second season. I kept meaning to read the books before the next season came out but I delayed them for two main reasons: the size and the current cliffhanger state of the series. I have no desire to read them until GRRM announces the other books. As it stands he seems to have no plans on doing that so this series may just end up being a collectible for me.

Eldest by Christopher Paolini

Most people credit Harry Potter for getting them into books but for me that goes to Christopher Paolini and Eragon. I was so young when the movie came out that when I read the book I was in love. I’ve heard all about the plagiarism controversy but come on. The publishers knew exactly what they were doing when they published a fifteen year old’s writing.

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire

I’m not ashamed to say I bought this book because of the Glee tv show. I had never heard of Wicked until I saw the Glee cast perform Defying Gravity (one of my favourite songs ever) and For Good. I immediately researched Wicked, found the novel in stores and got me a copy. But when I started reading the writing style was so difficult for me to digest I just put it down until I upped my game a little. It’s been years since then and I really should give it another go.

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

Cinda Williams Chima’s books get so much praise in the YA fantasy genre. I read the first three books in The Heir Chronicles and thought they were just okay. But every time I mention that I haven’t yet read The Demon King I get at least one person telling me that it’s amazing. I’ve almost started it a couple times but honestly the hype and my previous experiences with CWC are keeping me at bay.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

A Great and Terrible Beauty was one of those books I bought solely because of YouTube/tumblr. I saw it everywhere and back then I thought you had to buy all the books. Now I know better but I’ve kept this one because it’s historical fantasy. Unfortunately it’s pretty old and I can’t find the final book in the series anywhere so I haven’t started it yet.

The Diviners by Libba Bray

I read a bit of this one via Kindle sample and I was so creeped out. I had to buy it. I just haven’t read it yet because I hate waiting forever for sequels. My memory isn’t built for that.


Top 10 Tuesday was created and maintained by Jaime at The Broke and The Bookish. For more information, visit her blog here.

Signatures (3)

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books You STILL Haven’t Read

Leave a Reply

