Music Monday [#2] | Madi Wolf − Lucky

Music mondays

Music Monday is a weekly feature hosted by Total Book Geek. The rules of the feature are simple:

  • Choose a book or a scene from a book.
  • Choose a song that fits said book or scene.
  • Tell us why you paired them together.
  • Don’t forget to share the title and author.
  • Be careful not to include spoilers!

 

This week I’m going to be talking about Madi Wolf’s debut single, Lucky, and Brent Hartinger’s finale to the Russel Middlebrook series, The Road to Amazing.


I’m actually really glad I was able to match these two. I loved Madi Wolf’s debut single from the minute I heard it in the premiere episode of a new reality dating show and I have been a huge fan of the Russel Middlebrook series for years.

As I mentioned on Goodreads, The Road to Amazing didn’t really do much as a story but I loved the character interactions. The book is a celebration of the love between the two main characters of the series Russel and Kevin and how all of the hiccups in their plans could not and did not change how they felt about one another.

Lucky is a song that I feel captures that feeling perfectly. The song is a testimony to her partner that no matter what challenges arise she feels lucky to have them in her life.

If a fire burned my house to the ground
Recession went and drained my account
I don’t care if the sky’s coming down
Long as you’re there with me

And I can totally see Russel listening to this post-The Road to Amazing and smiling because of the feelings it brought back from his wedding weekend.

Signatures (3)

Leave a Reply

