Greek Mythology | Tag

Tags

I saw this tag on Sara’s blog a couple weeks ago and decided that I’d take over. I’ve always been a huge fan of Greek mythology, among other cultures’ pantheons, so I was taken in right away.

The rules are simple: you’re given a Greek god or goddess along with a category and you match them with a book.


Zeus, the God of the Sky and Thunder and King of the Gods // An auto-buy author (choose your own category)

Adam Silvera’s debut novel More Happy Than Not fucked me up in all the right ways. Since then he has two upcoming books and both sound like they have the potential to do the same.

 

Poseidon, the God of the Seas and Earthquakes // A book that drowned you in feels

Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Perks is a classic for a reason. I read this book early in 2015 and it had me tearing up. And I’m dead inside. Anything that makes me feel to the point of tears is an automatic plus in my books.

 

Hades, the God of the Underworld // Favourite book with a dark or ominous plot

20821614

YOU by Caroline Kepnes

I don’t even know where to begin with YOU. It was flat out disturbing. And the worst part of it was that I could understand where the protagonist was coming from. This is one of those great examples of right and wrong being completely up to a person’s perception.

 

Hera, the Goddess of Marriage and Family // Cutest fictional couple

23437156

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Jesper Fahey x Wylan Van Eck

I’m currently reading SOC don’t know if these two are actually a couple. I just think they should be. The few chapters I’ve had to get to know these two makes me think they would be the most adorable thing ever. I mean look at this dialogue:

*Jesper and Wylan, currently in the middle of battle*

W: Close your eyes!

J: You can’t kiss me from down there, Wylan.

W: Just do it!

J: This better be good.

Athena, the Goddess of Wisdom, Handicraft, and Strategic Warfare // Series with the best world building

The Archived

The Archived by Victoria Schwab

I know The Archived is a hit or miss story. I know that. But it was such a hit for me. I loved the concept of having a library of memories and Schwab did such an amazing job at building up the world that I wanted to be a Keeper. And I still do.

 

Aphrodite, the Goddess of Love and Beauty // Most beautiful cover on a 2016 release

28960100

A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray

Ares, the God of War and Bloodshed // Most violent book you’ve ever read

Aerie&Reckoning

The Fallen series by Thomas E. Sniegoski

This series may be about angels and nephilim but there is nothing angelic about the action scenes. People are impaled, things are sliced off with weapons heated by holy fire, things are burned in holy fire, and more. It really did catch me off guard when I read the first book.

 

Hephaestus, the God of Blacksmiths and Fire // A scorching hot and swoon worthy character

Is this supposed to be the ‘bad boy’ trope? Because I really dislike those kinds of people and characters.

 

Artemis, the Goddess of the Hunt and Virginity // Favourite Kickass Heroine

The Final Empire

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Vin is my favourite kickass heroine because she not only saves the day pretty much her entire adolescent into early adulthood life. But because she had such character development. She wasn’t always the badass she is today. She was quite the opposite. But she learned and grew and it made me fall in love with her character.

 

Apollo, the God of Light and Healing // A sequel book that redeemed its series

TheWhiteRose

The White Rose by Amy Ewing

The White Rose is the sequel to The Jewel, a high fantasy dystopian novel where girls with the ability to do ‘magic’ are sold off to the nobility as surrogates for their children. I had my problems with The Jewel but The White Rose took an unexpected turn that leaves me now in anticipation of the concluding novel later this year. And while I admit the series might not be for everyone, it certainly is my guilty pleasure.

 

Hermes, the Messenger God of Thieves and Commerce // A book with the best message

SGE

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

The School for Good and Evil is one of the books I will read to my kids if I end up having any. The book has such a real friendship between the two protagonists and it isn’t afraid of getting dark when it comes to dealing with issues like good and evil and right and wrong.

 

Hestia, the Goddess of the Hearth and Home // A book with the most relatable story

MHTN

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

I opened the tag by saying Adam Silvera fucked me up in all the right ways with his debut novel. The reason being that I could relate to pretty much everything from the protagonist, the events that happen, and the setting in which he lives. It was all eerily reminiscent of my own adolescence and some of my own experiences that I couldn’t be unfazed by the entire story.

 

Demeter, the Goddess of Fertility and Agriculture // Favourite bookish setting

17399160

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

I love the concept behind Snow Like Ashes. A continent is separated into eight kingdoms, four of which are frozen in permanent seasons of spring, summer, fall, and winter, and the remaining four cycle through the seasons normally.

 

Dionysus, the God of Wine and Celebration // Most anticipated 2016 release

Ghost Talkers by Marie Robinette Kowal / The Black Key by Amy Ewing / Iron Cast by Destiny Soria


And I tag whoever wants to do this tag (because I don’t know people?)

Signatures (3)

2 thoughts on “Greek Mythology | Tag

Leave a Reply

