Pokemon GO Tag

Tags

I saw this tag done by Jesse @ BooksAtDawn and instantly knew I had to do it. I haven’t been playing Pokemon GO that much but I did manage to get some of my favourites so far (my bby Seaking).

The tag was created by and all images used below belong to Aentee @ Read At Midnight. Here’s a link to her post.

Without further preamble, let’s get into the tag!

pokemon-go-book-tag

Rules:

  • NIL. Link back to my blog is appreciated but optional. Feel free to use my graphics. Tag people, don’t tag people, whatever. Just have fun!

pokemon-tag-01starters

cover

 

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

A lot of people have problems with Eragon and how similar it is to the Lord of the Rings trilogy but I haven’t read LOTR so I won’t chime in (for now). When the movie came out and thirteen year old me later read Paolini’s book I was in love. I wanted a dragon. I wanted to soar the skies and use magic and fight shades and the Ra’zac. I haven’t seen the movie or read the book since then but I do plan on rereading it and the other books in this quartet.

 

pokemon-tag02pikachu

Perks of Being a Wallflower

 

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I only read The Perks of Being a Wallflower this year but it was amazing. I read it within twenty four hours, watched the movie right afterwards and by the end of the movie there were tears running down my face. I still don’t have a physical copy of it but I look forward to the day when I do and can reread it.

 

 

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

I’m really sensitive to hype. I’ve mentioned it before (quite a lot, too) and my friend Jen wrote a blog post about it a while back (linked here). With that being said, I lost interest in a lot of books that I originally was really interested in reading.  I don’t even remember a book that I can use here to be honest.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

The Jewel

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

I said in my review of The Jewel that there are some similarities between it and The Hunger Games. But dystopia isn’t a genre with a lot of room for creativity. It is, in itself, a niche genre that relies on a single plot point − a corrupt government. Similarities aside I’m a huge fan of The Jewel and it’s sequel, The White Rose. The concept of lower class girls being bought and used by nobility as surrogates is so out there I had to read it. Lo and behold, I was pleasantly surprised by the story and I eagerly anticipate the final book that is due out in October.

 

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

7728889

 

The Diviners by Libba Bray

I love everything about The Diviners. It sounds exactly like something I would love. And at 578 pages it’s not even the biggest book I’ve read. I read the original Mistborn trilogy and each of those books average at 700 pages each. There’s just something about The Diviners that’s keeping me away from this delicious ghost story set in 1920 New York.

 

 

pokemon-tag06-gengar

20821614

 

You by Caroline Kepnes

You is by no means a scary book. I haven’t really gotten scared by a book in recent times, at least that I can remember. But this book is definitely disturbing. And it’s disturbing because of how possible it is. Someone using social media to gather information on someone before charming their way into that person’s life? Yeah. In fact, I’m sure it’s already happened somewhere in the world. Hell, it could be happening right now!

As much as we like to share with the world via the Internet, it’s always a good idea to adjust your security permissions for your own safety.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

cover

 

The Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger

Ah, OTPs. The backbone of a fandom. My one true OTP is Mackenzie and Wes from The Archived but I’m not using them for this prompt. No. In fact, I’ll be using Alexia Tarabotti and Conall Maccon from the Parasol Protectorate series. They’re lovable characters apart and together they’re the definition of a power couple.

 

 

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

cover

 

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

If anyone ever asks me for a flaming hot, fast-paced book I would direct them to A Thousand Pieces of You. I went in to ATPOY not expecting much more than a pretty cover but I was quickly shut up and put in back in my lane. This book is action and adventure and raw emotion from the very first page and I loved it.

I have yet to read the sequel but from the reactions of people I know who have, I’m guessing it gets better.

pokemon-tag09-eevee

hogwartscastle_wb_f4_hogwartsthroughthetrees_illust_100615_land
Image taken from Pottermore

Spin-offs are fine. I don’t think they’re ploy to beat a series to death (usually). But solid spin-offs require a solid foundation in the form of worldbuilding to not seem like the author or publisher is beating a dead horse. And I think we can all agree that J.K. Rowling crafted an amazing world when she dreamed up the wizarding world in the Harry Potter series. I wouldn’t be mad if she announced a prequel following his parents or a sequel with his kids. In fact, I’ve been sending those vibes out into the universe since the series ended.

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

The Naturals

 

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Books and stories that use psychological themes are my loves. So while I was interested in The Naturals, I didn’t really expect that much from it. Boy, was I wrong. I was able to read both books that were out at the time in a matter of days while amidst a reading slump and that’s impressive to me. The series follows a group of teenagers with peculiar talents. They aren’t superpowers, they’re just gifts. Something the average Joe can do. These kids just do it way better. They’re all recruited by the FBI to work on cold cases and somehow, always manage to get caught up in active investigations (obviously).

pokemon-tag12-legendary

I have two answers for this. The first is the Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown and the second is Air Awakens by Elisa Kova. Remember when I said earlier that I’m really sensitive to hype? Well somehow, Red Rising is able to still have me interested. Maybe it’s that it got good reviews from people I know are unbiased, but something about it still has me looking at it when it’s time to choose something new to read.

As for Air Awakens, I didn’t even know this book was hyped up until I started seeing a lot of support for the series on social media. I haven’t heard anything from the BookTubers but Bookstagram and indie book blogs all seem to hold this fantasy series in high regard. And each book is only $3 on Kindle makes it so much more accessible.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

I don’t pay much attention to collector’s editions, honestly. A lot of the time they’re overpriced and not worth the added content.

pokemon-tag10-egg

25760792

 

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

I’m super excited about Tara Sim’s debut novel, Timekeeper. First of all, there’s Victorian London which I’m a huge fan of. Then you add in time travel which is always fun. There’s also a male protagonist. Yay! It’s great to have female protagonists for female readers but I can’t identify with them most of the time. So it’s great for me to see a male protagonist. And finally, Sim treats us even futher by adding in a m/m romance. Can she be any more of a sweetheart time goddess?

Timekeeper is due out on 1 November, 2016.

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

I feel like giving two answers for this prompt so I will. And they’re no surprise to anyone. Victoria Schwab is my concept fantasy queen and Benjamin Alire Saenz is a master of writing realistic fiction. I will buy anything they both write.

pokemon-tag13-server-down

No surprise here but the books I’ve been waiting on are by the aforementioned Schwab and Saenz. I’ve been waiting for the final book in The Archived since I read both books back in 2014. Similarly, the sequel to Saenz’s award-winning novel Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe was announced this year but it feels like it’s been forever. Luckily, both authors have books being published within the next year but as I mentioned, I want ALL of their books. And I rarely say I want ALL of anything.

I don’t really know anyone to tag. If you like the tag, do it. Who cares about how it’s supposed to be done anyway?

Signatures (3)

Leave a Reply

