Top 10 Tuesday: Facts About Me

T10T

This week on Top 10 Tuesday the topic is: me!

All jokes aside, this week’s topic is to present our readers with 10 facts about ourselves− book related or not. I do have an About Me page that covers basic information so this week is my chance to give a little more.


Snapchat-2456686463217627521

I have two pets. A doberman-German shepherd mix named Pepsi and an orange-winged amazon parrot named Zazu.

I love reality tv competitions: Survivor, America’s Next Top Model, RuPaul’s Drag Race, etc. − Okay, hear me out here. Reality tv is so entertaining and it requires zero brainpower to watch and follow along. After a long day of class and/or work I don’t want to come home and exert brainpower to follow along with a show that has an actual storyline.

I have never been to a concert.

I’m pansexual − this is one that catches some people. Some people say bi or pansexual but there are distinct differences between the orientations. Bisexual refers to a sexual desire toward your gender and another gender (‘bi’ meaning two). This can mean your own gender and the female gender, intersex, transgender individuals, non-binary individuals, etc. Pansexual refers to sexual desire regardless of gender (‘pan’ meaning ‘all’).

I’m a Hufflepuff. Despite Pottermore telling me otherwise. I will never accept your sorting of Ravenclaw, Pottermore. N E V E R.

I’m a huge Pokemon and Digimon nerd. I have an obsession with collecting and raising things so series like Pokemon and Digimon can easily draw all of my attention for extended periods of time. And, if I had to choose one I would choose Digimon. The story gets darker and feels more mature. Sadly, Digimon games haven’t been doing so well in North America so they have been translated less and less.

I identify as mixed race/person of colour (POC)Living in the U.S. for the past year means I’ve been asked a lot about race. People tell me to say ‘Afro-Caribbean’ but I have no ties to anywhere in Africa. I was born and raised on the island of Trinidad to parents who, themselves, are mixed race/POC. Between them both I am made up of African, various European, and East Indian influences.

I like the pure untouched-ness of new things but the stories held inside used things.

I’m really bad at sticking to one thing. (see previous thing)

I’m fascinated with language. So if I ever correct your grammar it’s not because I’m trying to be an asshole. It honestly bothers me. Especially growing up in a place that doesn’t speak “English” so there is a lot of emphasis on learning “English” from a very early age.

Signatures (3)

Leave a Reply

