T5W: Settings You Would Like More Of

T5W(2)

This week on Top 5 Wednesday is the topic of settings. Where and when stories take place is crucial to said story. Without a setting the story literally wouldn’t exist! However, there are settings we see over and over and over againAnd they usually tend to mimic North American/Euro (typically British) reality and/or history. While that’s all well and good, there are many other times and places that we could explore and this list is a few that I would like to see more often.

Mesozoic era a.k.a. The Age of Dinosaurs

11-15
taken from http://geologylearn.blogspot.com

Show me someone who says they don’t like dinosaurs and I’ll call them a liar. Everyone loves dinosaurs. None of us really know what happened to them or what it would be like to interact with them, and that’s why there is so much potential for stories about dinosaurs. There was a recent release that I have my eye on solely because it’s a high fantasy revolving around dinosaurs, instead of dragons: The Dinosaur Lords by Victor Milan.


Native North America

native_american
taken from http://extremenaturalhealth.com

Pocahontas is my favourite Disney princess, hands down. I love her spirit and her perspective, and the music in that movie was just amazing. North America has more of a remaining Native culture than surrounding areas and I would love to read stories set before the invasion. What was their culture like? What conflicts did they face in their families and communities? How did they resolve them? There is so much untapped potential for great stories here. Especially to someone like me who came from another country and has only seen this culture portrayed on TV under the control of the white media.

Native Central America

photoescudo_mundo_maya_header_mundomaya_chichenitza
taken from http://visitmexico.com

The Aztecs, Mayans, Incas, etc. are just as fascinating as the dinosaurs. A culture extinct, and one I’m just fascinated by. The reasons for this are exactly the same as the Native American setting. Imagine the fantasy books that could come from these amazingly rich cultures!


the Caribbean

In case you don’t know, I’m from the Caribbean. Specifically, Trinidad and Tobago. Even now, looking for an image to include in this post when I Google “Caribbean civilisation” or “modern Caribbean” all I see is images of indigenous people and Europeans and beaches, respectively. This just goes to show how misrepresented we, as a region, are. Hence the reason I chose images from my own island, which is oil and economy based as opposed to tourism, to contrast the tourist notion held by everyone. We are so much more than that and it needs to be demonstrated in our literature.



All information related to T5W:

Sam’s Youtube | Sam’s Goodreads | Goodreads groupJune Topics

Signatures (3)

9 thoughts on “T5W: Settings You Would Like More Of”

  1. Your list is awesome! I’d really be interested to read books in any of the settings you chose — especially anything with dinosaurs!! That would be freaking awesome.

    Like

  2. I do agree on more far reaching books based on Caribbean books but they actually are a decent number of books penned by Caribbean authors. They may not be bestsellersbut Caribbean have to support their writers. I spent June trying to read books by Caribbean authors. A google search made me happy to see the lists.

    Like

    1. I’m actually doing a series of posts about the Caribbean (specifically Trinidad) and literature and I will be talking about books by Caribbean authors. But my two major concerns are that 1) they’re usually set in the past and things have changed so dramatically in the past decade or two that it’s hard for me as a young adult to relate and 2) most of the ones I’ve read tend to have dialogue in Creole and creoles as languages are meant to be oral and not written. Hence whenever dialogue is in Creole it’s significantly more difficult for me to understand it unless I read it out loud. I’ll be talking more about these in my blog posts which should be out within the next week or two.

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment though! It’s always great when people do 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

