Cover Reveal: The Inexplicable Logic of My Heart by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Benjamin Alire Saenz quickly became a well respected author of mine with his YA novel Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. I read it within twenty-four hours and it would have been less if I didn’t have to stop reading to prevent myself from sobbing on the bus ride to campus. Ever since then I’ve been on the look out for more of his novels.

Luckily, Ari and Dante will be returning in the sequel There Will Be Other Summers which is still in the initial writing stages but is going swimmingly according to Saenz. Until the release of Ari and Dante’s new adventure, Saenz has a new novel for us readers to enjoy. Not much is known in terms of a synopsis for his new novel, The Inexplicable Logic of My Heart, but the cover was released today by Entertainment Weekly along with an excerpt.

If I wasn’t excited for TILOMH before I’m definitely excited now. Saenz’s writing style is just so incredibly real and authentic and I can’t wait to have this book, in hardcover, in my hands when it’s released on March 7, 2017. See the cover and the beginning of the excerpt under the cut below:

inexplicablelogic_hc_cvr_060716

Chapter One

Life Begins

Dark clouds were gathering in the sky, and there was a hint of rain in the morning air. I felt the cool breeze on my face as I walked out the front door. The summer had been long and lazy, crowded with hot, and rainless days.

Those summer days were over now.

The first day of school. Senior year. I’d always wondered what it would be like to be a senior. And now I was about to find out what all the wondering was about. Life was beginning. That was the story according to Sam, my best friend. She knew everything. When you had a best friend who knew everything, it saved you a lot of work. If you had a question about anything, all you had to do was turn to her and ask and she’d just give you all the information you needed. Not that life was about information.

Sam, she was smart as hell. And she knew stuff. Lots and lots of stuff. She also felt stuff. Oh, man, could Sam feel. Sometimes I thought she was doing all the thinking, all the feeling, and all the living for both of us.

Sam knew who Sam was.

Me? I guess I wasn’t always so sure. So what if sometimes Sam was an emotional exhibitionist, going up and down all the time. She could be a storm. But she could be a soft candle lighting up a dark room. So what if she made me a little crazy. All of it—all her emotional stuff, her ever-changing moods and tones of voice—it made her seem so incredibly alive.

I was a different story. I kept myself in check. I guess I had this control thing over myself. I liked keeping it calm. But sometimes I felt as if I weren’t doing any living at all. Maybe I needed Sam because being around her made me feel more alive. Maybe that didn’t seem logical, but maybe the thing we called logic was overrated.

Read the rest of the excerpt on the EW article linked here.


About Benjamin Alire Saenz:

bxugesuq

Benjamin Alire Sáenz (born 16 August 1954) is an award-winning American poet, novelist and writer of children’s books.

He was born at Old Picacho, New Mexico, the fourth of seven children, and was raised on a small farm near Mesilla, New Mexico. He graduated from Las Cruces High School in 1972. That fall, he entered St. Thomas Seminary in Denver, Colorado where he received a B.A. degree in Humanities and Philosophy in 1977. He studied Theology at the University of Louvain in Leuven, Belgium from 1977 to 1981. He was a priest for a few years in El Paso, Texas before leaving the order.

In 1985, he returned to school, and studied English and Creative Writing at the University of Texas at El Paso where he earned an M.A. degree in Creative Writing. He then spent a year at the University of Iowa as a PhD student in American Literature. A year later, he was awarded a Wallace E. Stegner fellowship. While at Stanford University under the guidance of Denise Levertov, he completed his first book of poems, Calendar of Dust, which won an American Book Award in 1992. He entered the Ph.D. program at Stanford and continued his studies for two more years. Before completing his Ph.D., he moved back to the border and began teaching at the University of Texas at El Paso in the bilingual MFA program.

Find Benjamin Alire Saenz on Twitter @BenjaminAlireSa

7 thoughts on “Cover Reveal: The Inexplicable Logic of My Heart by Benjamin Alire Saenz”

Leave a Reply

