April & May Reading Wrap Up!

I didn’t bother to wrap up my reading in April because I read a single graphic novel. Instead I decided to wrap up April and May together so that there would be a bit more content. In total, I read four books and a few single issues of graphic novels between the two months. I’m satisfied with this number because it shows that I’m definitely trying but hopefully I can get back into a groove this month.

April 2016

24666002

This series interests me so much. Mainly because half the time I know what’s going on and the other, I’m just sitting there reading like ???. But I’m of the idea that this is one of those hindsight series where when it’s over and you look back at everything that happened you’ll see it all made sense.

Rating: ☆☆☆☆


May 2016

cover

I read this with Sara and Abby and it was definitely weird. On one hand it felt like a parody but on the other, you can tell the author was completely serious. Who knows? I did a full review which you can read here.

Rating: ☆☆☆

25861113

I only read the first chapter but I already love this. I also wrote on my first impression of this series so here’s a link to that as well — link.

 Rating: ☆☆☆☆

19064661

I’m a huge fan of horror and mysteries and Chew reminded me a lot of The CW’s horror-mystery-drama iZombie, so I gave it a try. Similar to Zodiac Starforce, I already wrote on my first impressions so here’s the link — link.

Rating: ☆☆☆

28483894

After all of those graphic novels, it was time to read another chapter of Tsugumi Ohba’s survival game series. This one was a little slow to start but it definitely picked up toward the end. I won’t go into more detail here because I wrote a discussion post for this chapter so here’s the link for that — link. Please be aware that my discussion posts are not first impressions and can contain spoilers.

Rating: ☆☆☆☆

25853351

I didn’t really like this volume. It only acknowledged the events of volume two in passing and there were a lot of side stories following the gods. Normally I would be glad for the different perspectives to flesh out the plot but the plot wasn’t even addressed. And to make matters worse this volume was populated with guest artists who were nowhere as appealing as Jamie McKelvie. I can’t wait for volume 4 for some answers and McKelvie’s return.

Rating: ☆☆☆

cover

I was finally able to finish Kevin Hearne’s Hounded and I enjoyed it as much as I expected to. It was great to read about the Irish pantheon for a change (instead of the Greek/Roman) and be introduced to that culture. The book was also very fast paced, full of enjoyable characters with a great sense of humour, and, best of all, no love triangles. There was romance but keep in mind this book is adult fantasy so there are stronger sexual themes.

Rating: ☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

