#FridayReads + Life Update!

Hello everyone! I feel like it’s been a while since I did a simple #FridayReads and a life update, so allow me a few moments to bring you up to speed.

I haven’t been very active as of late and that’s mainly because I haven’t been reading very much. This is my second and final semester here in Maryland and it turns out that my classes all require constant reading or assignments being churned out. Combine that with my constant going out (mostly for Indian food and to the movies) and you’ll see how I don’t have a lot of time in the day for reading. Nonetheless, I try to squeeze in a few pages whenever I can. Usually this means I can finish a book or two a month which is reserved for my monthly book discussions with Sara @ Freadom Library and Abby @ AbbyReads. Speaking of Sara and Abby, this month’s book is Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins — and we haven’t started it yet.

Sadly though, the semester is coming to an end with only approximately three weeks of teaching left. After that, I’ll probably remain in the U.S., traveling around Maryland visiting family and friends before I return home in late June — or so my current plan goes. With classes done my time should reopen significantly meaning I can really start focusing on reading regularly. And once I get back home I’ll have no distraction from reading until the new school year in late August. Until then I’ll continue to update here whenever I can.

With that being said, my Friday Reads is Kevin Hearne’s Hounded. It’s an adult urban fantasy novel that draws heavily on Irish mythology and, aside from some pronunciation issues, I’m having a great time reading it. Ideally I would finish it by Monday then give Rebel Belle my full attention, but we’ll see how things pan out.

Until then,

G.J. Alvi

Leave a Reply

