January 2016 Wrap Up

I haven’t done a wrap up in ages. Wow. It feels so strange…

One last time, Happy 2016 to everyone! I started the new calendar year back at home, bored and with a couple of books. I finished a total of two books, one graphic novel and DNF’d one book this month. Considering my track record over the past few months, I’m content with this.

 

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes

cover

Like I said on Goodreads, this was a pretty standard fantasy. There was some magic, some politics, some romance. Pretty much a little something for everyone. And the way the POV rotated throughout the main cast meant that readers would be able to find at least one person to root for.

I was, honestly, really into this book at the beginning and the end, but somewhere along the way my interest was shaky at best. But the end was enough to make me consider dropping my current read and picking up the sequel from the library the moment I saw it on the shelf.

Rating: ☆☆☆½

Two Worlds, One Cop (Sex Criminals #2) by Matt Fraction

cover

I feel like this volume lacked something. But what it was, I can’t say. As I’m writing this review I don’t remember most of what happened. I was looking forward to reading volume three when its intended release was January 2016, but it was pushed back to June.

Rating: ☆☆☆

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

cover

Okay. This one I DNF’d. I just couldn’t keep going. I made it about a quarter to a third of the way through and rolled my eyes almost every time Cath opened her mouth. She was way too shy and it irritated me. Now I’m no social butterfly, but there should come a point where you say ‘fuck it’ and step out of your comfort zone. And in the American culture, that time is university/college.

I can probably go on a huge rant about it but I’m going to quit while I’m ahead. If you want to know specifics on my thoughts feel free to ask me in the comments or via social media.

Since I DNF’d this one I won’t rate it but if I had to, it won’t be more than two stars.

Rating: DNF’d

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2) by Gail Carriger

cover

Aw man, I definitely have a soft spot for these books. There is just a sense of passion in these books that is evident in Carriger’s authentic writing. The dialogue and language did trip me up more than it did with the first book – something I attribute to my reading state and the fact that this wasn’t a Kindle read where I could look up words as I went along. Nonetheless I enjoyed being back with Alexia, Ivy and the others. I look forward to picking up Blameless, but that very well might be later on this year.

Rating: ☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

