Anticipated 2016 Releases

Now that we’ve broken the seal on the new year I think it’s time to give a list of some books that I’m looking forward to this year. Some of these book have titles, covers and synopses, while others have one or none. Either way, here’s a list of my most anticipated 2016 releases in order of release date:

The Bands of Mourning (Mistborn #6) by Brandon Sanderson

18739426

With The Alloy of Law and Shadows of Self, Brandon Sanderson surprised readers with a New York Times bestselling spinoff of his Mistborn books, set after the action of the trilogy, in a period corresponding to late 19th-century America.

Now, with The Bands of Mourning, Sanderson continues the story. The Bands of Mourning are the mythical metalminds owned by the Lord Ruler, said to grant anyone who wears them the powers that the Lord Ruler had at his command. Hardly anyone thinks they really exist. A kandra researcher has returned to Elendel with images that seem to depict the Bands, as well as writings in a language that no one can read. Waxillium Ladrian is recruited to travel south to the city of New Seran to investigate. Along the way he discovers hints that point to the true goals of his uncle Edwarn and the shadowy organization known as The Set.

Release date: January 26th, 2016

Riders (Riders #1) by Veronica Rossi

23430471

For eighteen-year-old Gideon Blake, nothing but death can keep him from achieving his goal of becoming a U.S. Army Ranger. As it turns out, it does.

Recovering from the accident that most definitely killed him, Gideon finds himself with strange new powers and a bizarre cuff he can’t remove. His death has brought to life his real destiny. He has become War, one of the legendary four horsemen of the apocalypse.

Over the coming weeks, he and the other horsemen–Conquest, Famine, and Death–are brought together by a beautiful but frustratingly secretive girl to help save humanity from an ancient evil on the emergence.

They fail.

Now–bound, bloodied, and drugged–Gideon is interrogated by the authorities about his role in a battle that has become an international incident. If he stands any chance of saving his friends and the girl he’s fallen for–not to mention all of humankind–he needs to convince the skeptical government officials the world is in imminent danger.

But will anyone believe him?

Release date: February, 16th 2016

A Gathering of Shadows (A Darker Shade of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows

Four months have passed since the shadow stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Rhy was wounded and the Dane twins fell, and the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift, and into Black London.

In many ways, things have almost returned to normal, though Rhy is more sober, and Kell is now plagued by his guilt. Restless, and having given up smuggling, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks like she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Games—an extravagant international competition of magic, meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countries—a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

But while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life, and those who were thought to be forever gone have returned. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night reappears in the morning, and so it seems Black London has risen again—meaning that another London must fall.

Release date: February, 23rd 2016

The Road to Amazing (Russel Middlebrook: The Futon Years #3) by Brent Hartinger

16172810._SY540_

According to the author’s blog post:

What’s The Road to Amazing about? Well, I don’t want to give too many spoilers, especially if you haven’t read Barefoot in the City of Broken Dreams yet. But I can say the book takes place over the course of a single wild weekend, there’s a mystery element, and Russel’s friends Otto, Min, Gunnar, and Vernie Rose are all back with plenty going on in their lives.

Release date: March 2016

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

17378527

All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Release date: April, 26th 2016

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab

23299512

The city of Verity has been overrun with monsters, born from the worst of human evil. In North Verity, the Corsai and the Malchai run free. Under the rule of Callum Harker, the monsters kill any human who has not paid for protection. In the South, Henry Flynn hunts the monsters who cross the border into his territory, aided by the most dangerous and darkest monsters of them all—the Sunai, dark creatures who use music to steal their victim’s souls.

As one of only three Sunai in existence, August Flynn has always wanted to play a bigger role in the war between the north and the south. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate Harker, daughter of the leader of North Verity, August jumps on it.
When Kate discovers August’s secret, the pair find themselves running for their lives and battling monsters from both sides of the wall. As the city dissolves into chaos, it’s up to them to foster a peace between monsters and humans.

A unique, fast-paced adventure that looks at the monsters we face every day—including the monster within.

Release date: July, 5th 2016

Crooked Kingdom (The Dregs #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Following SIX OF CROWS, this is the second book in a new fantasy epic from the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING, Leigh Bardugo.

SIX OF CROWS took Leigh’s fans back into the world they know and love, and now she continues the adventure in the dangerous and fascinating underworld of Ketterdam city.

As gripping, sweeping and memorable as The Grisha Trilogy, this is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and Game of Thrones.

Release date: September, 22nd 2016

The Lost Metal (Mistborn #7) by Brandon Sanderson

The Lost Metal is the tentative title for the fourth and final book set in Mistborn Era 2.

Release date: October, 20th 2016

The Black Key (The Lone City #3) by Amy Ewing

Release date: 2016

The Inexplicable Logic of My Heart by Benjamin Alire Saenz

A YA novel set in El Paso about family and friendship, life and death, by Printz Honor author Benjamin Alire Sáenz (Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe).

Release date: 2016

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s