Bookish Goals: 2016 Edition

Happy New Year once again minions!

It’s officially 2016 around the world and that means we reflect on the year gone by and make plans on how we can improve as human beings for the coming 365 days. I typically don’t do New Year resolutions because if I want to change something about my life, I do it right then and there. On the other hand, Goodreads’ yearly reading challenge makes the new year turnaround the perfect time for bookish resolutions.

In this post I will reflect on my goals for 2015 then reveal my goals for 2016, if any.

2015 Goals:

1. Read at least 50 books

Initially I said this to mean 50 novels excluding graphic novels. But once my reading slump hit halfway through the year, I realised that it takes me the same amount of effort to start and finish a graphic novel as a fully text novel. Therefore, I incorporated graphic novels into my Goodreads total and ended up with 52 books read in 2015.

If you’d like to see my top books of the year, I did a post on my Favorite Books of 2015.

 

2. Finish 5-7 series

This one requires some preamble. Sometimes trilogies are expanded on and they become longer. In cases like that I count the original trilogy as one series provided that there is a satisfying ending. This was the case with some of the series I completed this year. For example, Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments and Thomas E. Sniegoski’s The Fallen series. Both series are six and seven books respectively, but were originally three and four books each. As such, having read the original books I count them as one completed series.

Here is a list of series, with any reviews done, completed in 2015:

  • Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
  • Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  • The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare (books 1-3)
  • The Heir Chronicles by Cinda Williams Chima (books 1-3)
  • The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Fallen by Thomas E. Sniegoski (books 1-4)

 

3. Read 3-5 graphic novel series

Graphic novels are a peculiar bunch. They take a while to be released since chapters come out weekly or monthly, and are then bound into volumes. In this case, I just wanted to start at least three series and read at least the first volume. Again, I met this goal. Below is a list of series I started in 2015:

  • Marvel’s Runaways vol. 1-7 by Brian K. Vaughn
  • Rat Queens vol. 1 by Kurtis J. Weibe
  • Saga vol. 1-4 by Brian K. Vaughn
  • Sex Criminals vol. 1 by Matt Fraction
  • The Heroic Legend of Arslan vol. 1 by Yoshiki Tanaka
  • World Trigger vol. 1-9 by Daisuke Ashihara

 

Now onto, my goal(s) for 2016: Read 30 books. 

That’s it. I’m not going to force myself into finishing series or reading more graphic novels or doing any challenges. I’m just going to allow myself the freedom to read whatever I want, when I want and for how long I want. Most of the cause for this is that I’m going to be in my dorm then traveling from January to July.

Once I return home in late July, I’ll have time again to read a bit more frequently. Hence my goal of 30 books.

GJA.

Leave a Reply

