Favorite Books of 2015

Happy New Year!

2015 is officially over, and we welcome 2016 with open arms and hopes of new and exciting experiences.

But for a new beginning, there was an ending. And so, to end 2015, I’m going to be recounting the six books that I absolutely loved reading this year.

 

#6 The Art of Loving by Erich Fromm

14142

I mentioned this book in a few of my recent posts. The Art of Loving is a non-fiction book that describes psychologist Erich Fromm’s theory of love. In it he explores his ideas of what love is and why people experience love the way they do. I had to read it for my Personality Theory class and I’m very grateful that I did. This book changed the way I view relationships.

#5 My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

MHAOBH

MHAOBH is a contemporary novel that tells the story of a young couple that made a pact to end their lives together. I didn’t plan on reading it. I had seen contemporary novels that talked about depression and suicide before, and I just wasn’t interested. But then something made me pick it up and read the first few pages, and the next thing I knew I was neck deep in the story. It was powerful and heartbreaking and it put Jasmine Warga on my radar.

At the end I was so at a loss for words I couldn’t write a coherent review. Instead I made a playlist of songs that I feel fit the tone of the book.

#4 Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Not so much Ruin and Rising, than the entire Grisha trilogy. This trilogy is definitely something. It’s a bit slow at first, and it continues to build as the books progress, but what really caught me were the world and the characters. I still feel like the plot lacked something, hence why these books each got four-stars from me. But the characters and setting made up for the weakness of the plot.

Regardless, the series still has a huge fanbase, and a spin-off series that I have yet to get involved with. I will definitely be addressing that in 2016.

#3 Soulless by Gail Carriger

cover

Gail Carriger’s Soulless is just a wild ride from start to finish. I was instantly hooked by the authenticity of Victorian English dialogue. And the protagonist, Alexia Tarabotti, was different to other protagonists that I’d read before. In the first chapter alone, she slays a vampire with a parasol. Who else does that?

In 2016 I’m looking forward to continuing on with the series. I already went ahead and bought the second in this five book series. I just have to start it.

#2 The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Perks of Being a Wallflower

If I remember correctly, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a book quite a few people read for school in the US. I never had to. Perks was one of the first books I read in 2015 and I still remember the feeling I had turning the pages, eagerly devouring Charlie’s story. Upon finishing the book itself, I turned to the movie and shed a few tears.

I have yet to get a physical copy of this book, but it’s definitely one that I need for my personal collection.

#1 More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

MHTN

My favorite book of the year. It made me feel all of the good and happy things, and all of the not so good and sad things. More Happy Than Not started off a little slow but when things got started, they got started. This book is the reason I had a reading slump for a few months, and I think that deserves my #1 spot.

If this is what Adam can do to me with his debut novel, I can’t wait to see what his later books will bring. Probably more feels, maybe even some tears, and definitely more reading slumps. But it will all be worth it.

4 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2015

  1. Panda says:

    That looks like a good list. I’ve only read Perks myself though. But The Art of Loving sounds intriguing! I think I’ll find out more 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

