T5W: Books You’re Thankful For

I know it’s not Wednesday but I’ve been super busy and super out of it the past few weeks, hence the inactivity. Then Sara told me about this week’s Top 5 Wednesday and I thought this topic would be fun to do.

Without further ado, let’s get into five books that I’m thankful for:

 

5. Geography Club by Brent Hartinger

cover

Geography Club is probably one of the most influential books in my adolescent life. Granted I discovered the book after I saw the movie, I still adored it. It’s almost scary how similar I am to Russel, but it just made the book all the more impacting. I even got the opportunity to beta read for the current sequel series which chronicles Russel’s life as a young adult in contemporary times. Brent Hartinger will never know how grateful I am to him for writing these books.

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth

cover

Even though I’m not the biggest fan of the series as a whole, or even the book itself right now, Divergent was the book that got me back into the world of reading – and YA. I remember reading it in 2013 and being so fascinated by the concept of dividing people by their personality. Even now as I’m learning about personality theorists, doing research and writing papers I still think about the world Roth has created.

I may not be finishing the series, or even interested in what Roth has to write next, but I’m still thankful to have crossed paths with Divergent.

3. The Archived by Victoria Schwab

The Archived

If you know me at all you would know how much I love Victoria Schwab. The Archived series will be the death of me. Just thinking about it is getting me emotional and I can’t even write right now.

I love her so much. 

2. The Art of Loving by Erich Fromm

14142

The first book that I’ve had to read for school and completely finished. Not only is it an interesting read, it gave me a lot of insight on how people (and I) handle relationships – romantic and otherwise. I’m probably going to use the information presented in this book to psychoanalyse myself to another depressive episode but it was worth it.

1. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

MHTN

Easily my favorite book of the year (so far). I wrote a full review of this book here, but it took me forever. I had such a maelstrom of feelings from this book and it pretty much destroyed my ability to focus on another.

Adam Silvera, touché. I look forward to your new book next year. (And call me 😉 )

Leave a Reply

