Discussion: THE RAVEN KING by Maggie Stiefvater

It’s time. It’s here. And as I sit in my bed covered in blankets, snacking on sour gummy worms, I gaze upon the cover of The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater.


TRK is the fourth and final book of the Raven Cycle series that began back in 2012 with The Raven Boys. The series follows a group of teenagers as they get involved in mysticism, hijinks and adventure. At the moment I’ve only read the first book but I own all three that are currently out: The Raven Boys (2012), The Dream Thieves (2013) and Blue Lily, Lily Blue (2014).

I had planned to reread TRB this year then continue onto TDT and BLLB before reading The Raven King when its original release date was set for Fall 2015. Unfortunately, TRK was pushed back to February 2016. Even though the wait is longer, the cover is amazing and I cannot wait to get my hands on it in a few months.

In case you’re curious about the series, below is the synopsis for the first book, The Raven Boys. As I mentioned earlier, I haven’t read past it so please no comments regarding events from book two onward. Now, let us all revel in the cult that is The Raven Cycle.

cover cover 17378508

Goodreads synopsis:

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

MaggieStiefvater_444I am Maggie Stiefvater. I write books. Some are about dead Welsh kings. Some are about werewolf nookie. Some are about neither.

I have been a wedding musician, a technical editor, a portrait artist, and, for several fraught weeks, a waitress. I play several musical instruments (most infamously, the bagpipes), I still make art, and I recently acquired and unacquired a race car.

I live in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia with my husband, my two children, some cows, three dogs who fart recreationally, a criminally insane cat, an interminable number of miniature silky fainting goats, and one 1973 Camaro named Loki.

I like things that go.

(taken from Maggie Stiefvater’s website: http://maggiestiefvater.com/my-story/)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s