T5W: Authors You Discovered in 2015

This week’s topic for discussion is top authors you’ve discovered this year (2015). Luckily, I sort my books by the year that I’ve read them so I headed straight to my 2015 shelf on Goodreads. This year I read quite a few debuts and caught up on some series that I had been meaning to since I picked up reading again in June 2014. As with last week, I’ll be posting these in no particular order. If you’re curious about my top authors and the like, I try to keep the list on my GR profile fairly accurate.

Gail Carriger

48981 cover

Not a debut author but I read my first (and only) Gail Carriger book, Soulless, in July 2015. Her Parasol Protectorate series is full of things I enjoy such as mystery, wit, questionable fashion choices, sass and well done supernatural characters. Brava Miss Carriger. I’m very much looking forward to reading the rest of the series and its spin-offs.

Adam Silvera

tumblr_nvb1e47Wey1t5bmbgo1_1280 MHTN

A 2015 debut author, and definitely one of my new favorites. His debut, More Happy Than Not, received praise from quite a few professional reviewers and, now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve seen a bad review for it yet! I also had the privilege of meeting Adam and some other great authors at the Boston Teen Author Festival this year and I still can’t believe it happened. Adam is currently working on two novels, both set for release next year and both highly anticipated by yours truly.

Jasmine Warga

7224009 MHAOBH

Another debut author. My Heart and Other Black Holes wasn’t a book I initially planned on reading, but picked up after some promotion by the girls at Epic Reads. Needless to say, it hit me pretty hard with its accuracy of depression and suicide. I’m definitely a fan of hers after this book, and her next release is still untitled but is set for release next year!

Jennifer Lynn Barnes

164187 The Naturals

JLB is by no means a debut author. Her earliest listed project is 2006 and she already has two titles set for release next year. That means she’s been writing YA for a decade. Yes, a decade. The first of her books that I read was The Naturals back in February and it was a fun, thrilling ride. I read it and its sequel, Killer Instinct, within a week and ever since, I’ve been anticipating the third installment set for release next month. What I love about JLB is that her characters are really interesting and I attribute this to the fact that she holds a PhD in (cognitive) psychology. Could she be any cooler?

Side note: She did a TED Talk on the relationships between readers and fictional characters so check it out here if you’re interested (I suggest you do it even if you’re not interested).

Jim Butcher

993749 cover

Like JLB, Jim Butcher has been around the block a couple times. I’m just late to the party. I technically haven’t even finished his book, Furies of Calderon, but I’ve thought enough about it to put him on here. The book is just so engaging, and I have no problem taking a while finishing it. He has also written one of my favorite female characters of all time. I’m barely a third into the book and every time there’s a chapter from her perspective I just know she’s going to be nothing but badass.  Plus, look at that hair! Perfect.

Leave a Reply

