T5W: Diverse Characters

I forgot it was Wednesday, hence the fact that I’m quickly typing this up at almost 8pm.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is ‘Diverse Characters’. Recently there has been more and more push from readers on publishers to publish books with more representation of all kinds: skin types, body types, sexual orientations, disabled characters, and more. And, from what I can see, there has been an increase in the amount of these books being released. I just haven’t read many of them.

I had a bit of difficulty making up my list because I didn’t want to feature only diverse orientations, but unfortunately that’s mostly what I read. This list is also in no particular order. I’m simply featuring some of my more liked (and in some cases, loved) characters that aren’t straight/white/male characters:

Emmett and Jeremey from Carry the Ocean by Heidi Cullinan

23429582

I’m currently reading this book and the two main characters Emmett and Jeremey are both as diverse as you can get. I’m only 15% in so I’m still very early into the story, but I really like these two and how they relate to one another. They’re both gay characters, but Emmett has a form of autism and Jeremey has clinical depression and anxiety. I’ve never read a book with an autistic character where their autism took the front seat and I’m completely fascinated.

Raven from The Jewel by Amy Ewing

The Jewel

The way that Amy Ewing described Raven at the beginning of The Jewel reminds me of a young Japanese woman. She further reinforces this (minor spoiler for The Jewel) by having her dress in a kimono during her auction. Nonetheless, Raven is fierce and bold and she’s definitely one of my favorite, if not my favorite, character in the series.

Gabriel from Half Bad by Sally Green

Half Bad

I had no choice but to put Gabriel on here. He is literally the only reason I read the second book. And he may be the reason I read the third, I haven’t decided yet. This series is just a hot mess for me, but Gabriel makes it better. Even though he is a cisgender male, Gabriel is probably the gayest thing you can find in Europe so there’s that. (PS. If you like Gabriel and haven’t read the novella Half Lies, then go read it. It’s all about him and his family).

Magnus Bane from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

COB

I may have my problems with TMI and the way Clare portrays her LGBT characters, but I will be the first to admit that Magnus Bane is a lot of fun. I don’t even need to explain this. Anyone who has read even the first book will know exactly what I mean. For those who don’t know, he’s a gay Asian warlock; a gaysian warlock.

Aristotle and Dante from Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Ari&Dante

This is my favorite book so it was a no brainer that the titular characters would be on this list. Both gay (although there has been some discussion recently) and Mexican, Ari and Dante are perfect sweet cinnamon rolls that need to be protected. I recently got my floormate to read this book and I eagerly await her thoughts once she’s done.

2 thoughts on “T5W: Diverse Characters

Leave a Reply

