T5W: Favorite Graphic Novels

Top 5 Wednesday celebrates graphic novels this week! Now, I don’t really read a lot of graphic novels because I find it really hard to fork out USD $10 to $15 for something that I would read in like, an hour. Instead, I read a lot of fan translated manga over the years. Nonetheless, I’ve read a few so here are five graphic novels, but mostly manga (sorry, not sorry), that I’ve read and loved:

Sankarea by Mitsuru Hattori

16099213 16156340 18875776

Manga. Sankarea is a dark romantic comedy following a boy with a zombie fetish who falls in love with his classmate after she is reborn as a zombie. Now this kind of story may not be for everyone but I really enjoyed it. There were some slow moments but overall Sankarea was what I wanted it to be. Also, the covers get pretty amazing later on in the series. There are eleven volumes in total and they’re all available through Kodansha comics.

Runaways and Saga by Brian K. Vaughn

18630403 18630425 18633469

Runaways is a Marvel storyline revolving around a group of six teenagers who find out that their parents are criminal masterminds of varying types: mutants, time traveling thieves, sorcerers, aliens and more. What I liked about Runaways, besides the obvious teenage rebellion (because I have issues with authority), was the diversity. These six teens come in all ages, sizes, ethnicities and sexualities. But this wasn’t Vaughn’s best work imo.

Saga1 Saga2 Saga3

Enter Saga, a romantic war space opera. And if that description doesn’t get you then something is wrong with you. I’ve only read the three volumes listed here and it’s already great. Note though, there is strong adult content so I only recommend this if you’re mature enough to handle the content.

Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic by Shinobu Ohtaka

19542958 19189205 19326899

Manga. Magi: The Magic of the Labyrinth is one of my favorite manga ever. It’s a long running series with volume twenty seven (chapters 259-268) due for release in Japan on October 16th but it’s so good. Set in the Middle East, it’s inspired by One Thousand and One Nights and is chock full of adventure, politics, comedy, magic and badass fights. The series is being released in English thanks to VIZ Media and volume fourteen will hit stores on October 13th, 2015.

Lucifer and the Biscuit Hammer by Satisho Mizukami

20945111 22561334 22669178

Manga. I’ve talked about this manga before. Lucifer and the Biscuit Hammer follows a group of people of all ages known as Knights as they try to stop the destruction of the world. I’m definitely due for a reread but this was one of the first manga I read completely and I was almost in tears. Ironically, it’s a comedy. I highly recommend you check it out (and let me know what you think of the first page cuz it’s hilarious).

Yamada and the Seven Witches by Miki Yoshikawa

23012651 23995509 23995510

Currently my favorite manga out there. Yamada and the Seven Witches is a romantic comedy following a boy named Yamada as he gets involved with seven girls in his school known as Witches, each with an ability that is activated through kissing. Similar to Magi, this is a long running series with 176 chapters currently in circulation. The series is being translated by Kodansha for us English fans with volume five hitting shelves on November 17, 2015.

2 thoughts on “T5W: Favorite Graphic Novels”

Leave a Reply

