October 2015 TBR+!

So I didn’t finish any books in September. I started reading Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher and got 230 pages in until school started getting the better of me. Then I also started my monthly pick with Sara and Abby, The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, which I hope to finish either today or tomorrow. Altogether I read between 400-450 pages which I’m proud of compared to July and August, but it’s still not enough to require it’s own wrap up.

As for this month I hope I can keep that momentum and even build on it. As usual I have a new monthly book that I’ll be reading with Sara and Abby, and some darker series that I hope to start and/or continue. Based on my previous months’ progress and the fact that I have two exams and two papers due before the 20th, I most likely won’t be able to get to everything so the following is more of my reading pool where I’ll pull from, rather than a set list of things I hope to read.

So without further rambling here’s my October 2015 reading pool:

Carry The Ocean by Heidi Cullinan

23429582

CTO is the book Sara, Abby and I agreed to read this month. October is LGBT history month here in the US so I suggested we read a book with a queer theme in honor of that. This book is still fairly new having been released in April 2015 but the reviews on Goodreads appear generally positive. I’m hoping I can do a full review on this actually.

Changeless by Gail Carriger

cover

The sequel to Soulless which I read in August (I think?) with Sara and Abby. Since then Sara and a friend who started the series upon my recommendation have finished the series. Meaning, I’m very far behind. Luckily the series also fits the loose theme of dark supernatural stories that I’ve adopted this month.

The Others by Anne Bishop

cover cover cover

An adult modern fantasy series following a protagonist who can see the future when her blood is spilled, or something like that. I do own the first book on Kindle so it’s really a matter of starting it.

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan

cover 23718697

A series that takes place in Lousiana and involves witchcraft or voodoo, I can never remember which. I was skeptical about this series at first but I bought the first book on Kindle one day when it was on sale. I’ve also been looking for a book that involves voodoo, maybe this is it?

Anna by Kendare Blake

cover cover

A ghost story that’s gotten mostly good reviews from a lot of people I follow on Goodreads. And the best part? A male protagonist!! I’ve had the first book on Kindle for a while so here’s to Anna creeping me out 😁

Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

cover cover cover

Currently reading/ In progress:

25781800 cover

The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (69% complete)

Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher (p. 230 of 673)

GJA

3 thoughts on “October 2015 TBR+!”

Leave a Reply

