[Update] I’m Still Alive! (But Just Barely)

First off, I just want to comment on how much the title of this post sounds like a Panic at the Disco song. Hell yeah!

As I mentioned in my previous posts, I’ve been in the US for almost a month and I’m still trying to establish a routine. I have been to my local Barnes & Noble (twice) and picked up a couple things. A lot of the books are so overpriced ($15 for a Gone Girl paperback!?) that I can’t justify spending my hard earned money on them. I do buy them if I really want them though. Unfortunately, my local B&N doesn’t have that wide a selection. To fix that I plan to take a trip to Baltimore’s power plant location. Isn’t it the best? (sighs)

As for book reviews, I didn’t really bring any recent releases with me. I brought about ten books with me that I’m hoping to read before I go back home in December. Quite a few of them I hope to do reviews for, I just have to read them. My classes aren’t even that intensive right now (except for one), I’m just being lazy.

In about two weeks I’ll be going to the Boston Teen Author Festival and I hope that the chance to meet some authors will reinspire me to pick up those books that crossed the ocean with me. The website for the event can be found here. I’ll just briefly mention some of the authors I hope to meet. The ones in bold I’ve read already:

  • Becky Albertalli (Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda)
  • Adam Silvera (More Happy Than Not)
  • Leigh Bardugo (The Grisha trilogy)
  • Sara Raasch (Snow Like Ashes, Ice Like Fire)
  • A.C. Gaughen (Scarlet trilogy)
  • Renee Adieh (The Wrath & The Dawn)
  • Kendall Kulper (Drift and Dagger)
  • Melissa Grey (The Girl at Midnight)

I had planned to read at least a couple of these before I head up to Boston but of course I haven’t yet. It’s a nine hour bus ride to Boston so I figure I can get at least one down on the trip.

Until then I will be here lurking and doing the occasional tag or whatever and trying to finish at least one book this month. Can you tell I’m a great book blogger?

GJA

4 thoughts on “[Update] I’m Still Alive! (But Just Barely)”

Leave a Reply

