Top 10 Tuesday: Finished Series I Have Yet to Finish

It seems that today everyone is using self shame to motivate themselves into picking up those finished series they have yet to complete. I’m not one to pass up an opportunity to self shame and motivate so I decided to jump in. This list can easily overlap with my list of series I hope to start and finish in 2015 so I’ll try not to unless absolutely necessary.

Side note: I’m not the kind of reader who buys and marathons entire series. I find that after about two books and need a change of pace. I call this phenomenon “book burn out”. I don’t know if it happens to other people as well but it’s nice to give it a name.

This runs as part of Top 10 Tuesday (which is my first time doing it) and I will have all of the necessary information at the end of the post. Let’s start the list in no particular order:

The Fallen by Thomas Sniegoski

In my defense I only have two books left in the series. It’s very possible that I would have finished this series already if I didn’t have to leave it behind. The books are on the bigger side (300-400 pages) with the last one being 500+ pages. The remaining two would have taken up way too much suitcase space.

The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger

I absolutely adored the first book, SOULLESS, but I wanted to wait until I was in the US to make sure I can buy the books in the same proportions. In my defense book two, CHANGELESS, was the first book I looked for when I went to B&N last week but they didn’t have it. I did order it so I will be picking it up tomorrow after class.

Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness

This trilogy has gotten really good reviews from pretty much everyone who’s read it. I also like that it’s more of a sci-fi premise thrown amidst my fantasy obsession. I own the first book on my Kindle but I’m kind of put off by Kindle books at the moment. I may read a bit to make sure I really want in on this series before investing in the paperbacks.

Glamourist Histories by Mary Robinette Kowal

Similar to Chaos Walking except it’s a five book series described as Pride and Prejudice with magic.I have read a bit of the first chapter and found it interesting. The book covers are just great so I may just buy the paperback and keep it even if I don’t continue the series.

Codex Alera by Jim Butcher

Okay, I’m currently reading this one! The first book anyway. So far so good. I don’t expect to be done with it anytime soon though.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

I don’t actually remember what this is about other than magicians… Sorry. I do remember that I hadn’t heard much about it so I was definitely intrigued.

The Cahill Witch Chronicles by Jessica Spotswood

I like historical fiction. I like witches. Combine the two and you already have me. Also, I really like the book trailer for the first book.

Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman

If you have any kind of scientific mind you will probably be interested by this series.

Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

I do enjoy darker series and ones with unreliable narrators. The conclusion to this series seems to have mixed reviews though, and that has been keeping me hovering around the edges. I do own the first book on my Kindle though.

Lux by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I have been sci fi in greater quantities lately and JLA’s Lux series seems to be the first to jump into people’s minds. I do like the covers and own the first book on my Kindle (like if that’s worth anything at this point) but what puts me off here is the alien romance. STOP FETISHIZING ALIENS.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Finished Series I Have Yet to Finish

Leave a Reply

