T5W: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Stories

I’m not going to lie: I kind of had a hard time coming up with this list. Usually I’m pretty satisfied with books, their stories and the characters. If I don’t like a character I stop reading. But there have been some cases where I have pushed through (*cough Paper Towns cough). So without further ado, let’s get on with it:

#5.5 (Bonus round) Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

17399160

This isn’t even based around a character but I really, really love the world of SLA. The first book kicks off after the Winter Kingdom was invaded by Spring so what I want is a story of Winter in its prime. I’m sure we’ll have some version of that by the end of the trilogy (because that’s just how these things go) but that will be like WInter 2.0. I want to see the original Winter.

#5 Sandra Sharpe in The Curse Workers by Holly Black

cover

Sandra Sharpe is the mother of the protagonist, Cassel Sharpe, and an emotion worker. Throughout the entire book she’s in jail for being caught conning rich men. I want to know more about Sandra and her con work. I’d love to see a book or two about Sandra in her twenties maybe? Or before she meets Cassel’s father. The books can end when she meets him or gets pregnant, I don’t care. I just want more Sandra because I felt like she was a way more interesting character than Cassel ever was.

#4 Any of the Naturals from The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

24849026

It’s no secret that I really enjoy this series and all of the characters that inhabit it. I would really like a book about any one of the characters’ before they joined the Naturals program. We know they all had difficult pasts because of their skills but it doesn’t really go that much in depth and that’s what I want. Depth.

What caused them to require the skill. How they developed it. How they used it afterward. All leading up to their enrollment in the program.

#3 Gabriel from The Half-Life by Sally Green

Half Bad

Literally the only reason I read book two of this series was for Gabriel. Gabriel is the shining light in the chaos that is this trilogy. Please, more Gabriel and less Nathan.

#2 Raven from The Lone City by Amy Ewing

22752758

I know we get Raven’s perspective in the novella THE HOUSE OF STONE, and it was good. But it wasn’t enough. From the first line you get a glimpse into Raven’s personality and she’s definitely more interesting than Violet in my opinion. Maybe a collection of short stories from her perspective throughout the trilogy? Similar to Veronica Roth’s FOUR? I just need something to work with here. I have so many questions pertaining to her after reading book two.

#1 Nikolai from The Grisha by Leigh Bardugo

RuinandRising

Everyone loves Nikolai Lantsov. And the fact that I remember his last name goes to show you how attached I am to this guy. He’s a pirate. He’s a king. He’s snarky and witty and great. What else is there to say?

And if you don’t like Nikolai…. what is wrong with you?¿?¿¿¿?

One thought on “T5W: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Stories

Leave a Reply

