Gathering Up Some Books for the Summer

Or is it spring? I don’t know. Here in the Caribbean we only have the wet and dry seasons.

This week I ended up running some errands with my mom and of course I convinced her to head to the bookstore. I hadn’t been in a while due to saving for my (possible) student exchange and just wanting to read the books I already owned.

Nonetheless, I entered and what did I encounter? A bargain shelf. Yes, three shelves filled with books that ranged anywhere from $5 to $40 (that’s less than USD$1-6). I took my time perusing and came out with four books in total; three hardcovers and a mass market paperback. I paid and spent less than USD$20 in total. Then it hit me.

There are other locations. Possibly with more bargain shelves.

Fast forward to today. As I toiled away on my morning shift, I decided to head down a couple blocks to another location and hopefully meet another bargain shelf. Luckily, I did.

Now for the fruits of my labour:

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (paperback)

Dreamless by Josephine Angelini (hardcover)

The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson (hardcover)

Such Wicked Intent by Kenneth Oppel (hardcover)

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld (hardcover)

Timeless by Gail Carriger (paperback)

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff (hardcover)

BUT THAT’S NOT ALL!!

It seemed today was some kind of special day to the book gods for they also decided to have both the Legend and Grisha trilogies on sale for $2.99 per book on Kindle. So naturally, I bought both series.

Legend – Prodigy – Champion by Marie Lu

Shadow and Bone – Siege and Storm – Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

One would think I wouldn’t need to go book shopping for a while, wouldn’t one? Sadly, no. Quite a bit of the books that I obtained over this shopping excursion are books in the middle of series. Now, I have to hunt down the first books (eg. This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel, Soulless by Gail Carigger).

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

