March 2015 Reading Wrap Up!

Hello April! (Just an fyi, when I was 14 I bought a guitar and started learning to play. I was deep in my Avril Lavigne phase so naturally I named my guitar April)

In March I read a total of 7 books. I’m actually pretty impressed because I had a lot of school things to do this month. On top of completing it all within the time limit, I was able to find time to read these books. COULD I BE GETTING THE HANG OF TIME MANAGEMENT?!

All reviews mentioned can be accessed by clicking the respective book covers.

Unravel Me Fracture Me Ignite Me
The first two books I read this month were UNRAVEL ME and IGNITE ME by Tahereh Mafi. This brought my time with the Shatter Me trilogy to an end. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience — definitely enough to get me out of my reading slump.

The Jewel

Then, I finally picked up THE JEWEL by Amy Ewing. I won’t go on with this one because I did a full review. I will say that I haven’t been this excited for a novella and sequel (The House of Stone and The White Rose respectively) in a long time.

MHAOBH

After my time in The Lone City I returned to our world with MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES by Jasmine Warga. As someone who has dealt with depression in the past, this book hit me very hard. Upon finishing I was so speechless that I couldn’t even put words together for a review. Instead I did a playlist that Jasmine herself enjoyed.

Also this month, it was announced that MHAOBH has been optioned for a film! I think it’s safe to say 2015 is a great year for Ms Warga so far.

Paper Towns

Still in the real world, I joined Quentin on his journey to find Margo in John Green’s PAPER TOWNS. This was the first John Green novel that I finished, having started and put down both Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Looking for Alaska. Even after finishing this one I’m still don’t see the hype around these books. I am looking forward to the movie in July though!

Half Bad   cover   Half Wild

Finally, I ended the month in London with Sally Green’s Half Bad trilogy. I read HALF BAD, the novella HALF LIES and the March released, HALF WILD. I did a full review of Half Bad and I’m still deciding if I want to review Half Wild. Honestly, the only thing that made me read it was the cover. I’ll probably read the final book when it comes out next year just for closure.

– GJA

 

May 4th, 2015 EDIT: I forgot to mention that I finished The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson during March!

Leave a Reply

