February 2015 Reading Wrap Up!

It’s that time of the month again! No, not that time… Time that I wrap up what I read in the month of February!

In February I read a total of four books — all with some kind of criminal element. Three of the four I actually did full reviews on so I will link those in the titles below. I had actually planned out an entire tbr revolving around historical fiction in honor of February being Black History month but when I sat down to read them I just wasn’t in the mood. In fact, I started February in a bit of a reading slump then had a second one nearer to the end of the month (which I talked about here). This month was just hectic for me in terms of class and whatnot so I had to prioritize. Without further ado, let’s get into the books:

The NaturalsThe first two books I read this month were THE NATURALS and KILLER INSTINCT by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. These are the first two books in The Naturals trilogy and the third and final book is due out this November.

Killer Instinct

The series revolves around Cassie Hobbes, a Natural profiler. Naturals are people with the innate ability to be adept at something. For Cassie it’s profiling; observing a person’s behavior, personality and environment to make predictions about the person’s life and actions. Cassie and a handful of other Naturals are recruited by the FBI to assist on cold cases. Yes, if you’re thinking it sounds like Criminal Minds, that’s because it is.

I gave both books 4/5 stars and am definitely looking forward to the final book, All In, later this year.

ShutterNext, I read SHUTTER by Courtney Alameda. A paranormal horror book, and Courtney’s debut novel.

Micheline Helsing is the descendant of the famous Van Helsing and the only heir to the Helsing Corporation. She spends her days fast asleep and her nights hunting down and exorcising ghosts, zombies and other things people thought existed only in nightmares. Except one night she takes on one entity that may be out of her skill set. She manages to get away, but not unscathed. She and her hunting crew are infected with a spectral disease called Soulchain that slowly squeezes the life out of the infected over seven days. Now, Micheline and her crew are forced to break the rules to find and exorcise the entity before the week is up and save their lives.

SHUTTER received five stars from me, although it’s more of a 4.5. Courtney’s next book is called PITCH DARK and is a space horror set for release in 2016. Yes, I will be reading it.

Finally, I (re-)read SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi. This is the only book I read this month that I didn’t review. Shatter Me

The first time I read SM however, I wasn’t a big fan. I had gone into it expecting a dystopian a la Divergent (my first dystopian book) but found way more sexy times and less dystopia. I did like the psychological aspects of it however, those were fun. That first time, the book was redeemed by its ending and then the sequel novella Destroy Me.

This time, I knew what I was getting into and was able to enjoy it way more. I even changed my perspective of Adam and was able to like him this time! Let’s see if he can keep me a fan in the sequels. SHATTER ME got a 4.5/5 from me (this time).

I’m still reading THOA by Brandon Sanderson but I opted out of reading and got me the audiobook instead. It’s already way easier to get into for me. I also had to start reading MIGUEL STREET by V.S. Naipaul for one of my classes this semester. It seems to be a collection of short stories but the use of creole in the book is definitely turning me off. Hopefully I will be able to mention these in next month’s wrap up!

-GJA

Leave a Reply

