February 2015 Releases

I’m still in shock that it’s the last week of January. Like what? Wasn’t it just New Years…?
Anyway with January over that means the February releases are going to be coming in. And I’m excited hehe.

ShutterShutter by Courtney Alameda (release date: 3rd Feb, 2015)

One of the things you will come to learn about me (if you didn’t know already) is that I love a good ghost story. So when I first saw the cover for Shutter I was instantly intrigued (it’s a freakishly good cover after all). Then I found out that it’s about a girl who exorcises spirits with a special camera and I was sold.

PS. While writing this post I realised that this book comes out in exactly a week. Excuse me while I have a small crisis.

The Shadow CabinetThe Shadow Cabinet by Maureen Johnson (release date: 10th Feb, 2015)

I’ve pretty much been craving this book ever since I finished prequel The Madness Underneath last year. TSC is the third book in the Shades of London quartet. A series following Rory, Louisiana born and raised, as she accidentally gets involved in London’s spirit world while studying abroad for her last year of high school.

Rory is just a ball of sass and I love her. For example,

“I decided to deflect her attitude by giving a long, Southern answer. I come from people who know how to draw things out. Annoy a Southerner, and we will drain away the moments of your life with our slow, detailed replies until you are nothing but a husk of your former self and that much closer to death.”

And that was just book one my friend. There’s much more where that came from.

Red QueenRed Queen by Victoria Aveyard (release date: 10th Feb, 2015)

I think everyone in the English speaking world is looking forward to this book.

Yes. I did just make a Mean Girls reference. It’s my blog and I do what I want.

RQ is a high fantasy dystopian blend where people are put in one of the two social classes based on the color of their blood. The Silvers are the silver blooded elite of society while the Reds are the red blooded working class. Silvers are also granted unique abilities, as if their social status wasn’t enough. However, our protagonist is a young Red girl named Mare who, coincidentally, has a unique ability. Shock! Awe!

Also, this book has a fantastic cover. Just sayin’.

ADSOMA Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab (release date: 24th Feb, 2015)

Victoria Schwab is bae.

I read The Archived series last year and absolutely loved it. I have yet to read Vicious for reasons unknown to me. But I’m sure I’ll love it too.

Pretty much just like I’ll love this book.

There’s parallel universes, London and magic. What else can you ask for?

What…? Did you say… cross dressing thieves?

[heavy breathing intensifies]

Ironically, my most anticipated book of February is none other than ADSOM. This means I have to wait until the end of the month… Fate is a cruel mistress indeed.

– GJA

Leave a Reply

