Book Review: Inked by Eric Smith

Inked / Eric SmithGenre(s): high fantasy, adventure

Inked on Goodreads

Inked on Amazon

Let’s get Inked

Okay, that was a bad start but I felt that it fit the review.

I really enjoyed this book. There was a unique plot with very likeable characters and I can’t really ask for much more than that.

The first thing that stood out to me is a the fact that the story was action packed from the get go. We open with Caenum about to run away from his village of Frosthaven only to be stopped by his best friend Dreya. Only, I think they would have had less eventful lives if she had let him go…

Usually fantasy books take some time to lay the groundwork before setting off the action so it was a nice change. At the same time though I felt like the world building suffered a little. Things were explained well enough to follow the story and appreciate what was going on but with such a unique concept it kind of pokes at your brain and makes you want to know all the things. I hope these will be addressed in some kind of sequel (hint hint Eric Smith).

In terms of characters I don’t think there was one I disliked. Caenum had his moments where I thought he should have been a bit more proactive but that was Caenum. You get used to it and you understand him much better by the end. Kenzi and Dreya were great characters as well. Only sometimes I wish we had a bit more of Kenzi’s background. There were some characters that came in later on that I absolutely loved for their unique charm and wit but I won’t talk about them. You’ll know who they are when you meet them.

And I also have to mention the romance. Being one who is extremely picky about romance, I enjoyed how this one grew over the course of the book. It wasn’t insta-love nor was it rushed. It felt perfectly paced and I’m content with the way it played out.

I’m honestly hoping for some kind of sequel. Preferably after a time lag because I want to see what the characters will be like a few years into the future. You can’t finish this book and not be curious which I think is something Smith should be applauded for. I don’t know if there’s one in the works but if there is I’ll definitely be picking it up.

– GJA

One thought on “Book Review: Inked by Eric Smith

Leave a Reply

